I Felt Like a Man

Conan the Barbarian had been very busy fighting monsters and evil wizards for a week.  So busy, in fact, that he didn’t have  much time for the beautiful princess.  (cute, huh?)  Prior to that it was period week, and that put the kibosh on things, too.  Now, usually period week means I have no desire for any type of sex WHATSOEVER.  But this time was different.  This time, while we still didn’t do anything, I still wanted to.   So much, in fact, that I gave Conan oral sex twice, just to do SOMETHING!  I’m not sure if that was a good or bad idea, because it got me even more charged up.   Then came  Conan’s busy, stressful work week from The Hot Place and that equaled not a lot going on in the Barbarian bedroom.

Anyway, I had been walking around in a state of arousal for a week.  I am telling you now, this has NEVER happened to me before.  NEVER.  I do think, oh, sex would be nice.  Or, we’re going to have sex tonight, yay!   But I just don’t walk around all rrrrrrrandy like guys do.  But here it was in the back of my mind, sex, sex, sex, sex.  What the heck???  It actually became uncomfortable and distracting.   And I began to sympathize with Conan.  I began to think about the times when we’d frequently  go two weeks without it back in the day.   I could not  have cared less, but Conan had been walking around all charged up with nowhere to go.  And now I have an idea of what that was like for him, not one time, but lots of times.  YIKES!!

Ladies, sympathize with your man!  Don’t make him wait too long.  Don’t let yourself wait too long!  It’s not healthy!  And it kind of sucks to be on the waiting end of things.

10 thoughts on “I Felt Like a Man

  1. It would be nice if more women had that opportunity to “walk in our shoes” for a week or two, and feel what it is like to be given that strong, hormonal sex drive, which is designed to draw us to our wives. That desire for sex isn’t just a physical need, but an emotional need as well. I am glad that you had that experience. Now you know what it feels like to be in Conan’s shoes.

    Great post.

  2. So often think men are oversexed. But in reality women need to have a partner who is focused, constant and reliable. Women get so caught up in a thousand things that they forget that sex is a wonderful way to relax and de-stress. But instead they think of sex as just another chore on this list. Too bad.

    • I don’t know about all women, but I certainly do need a man who is “focused, constant and reliable” (and I believe I have one)! And yes, it is a good way to de-stress. And I feel that way more and more. But there was a long time when sex WAS stress and pressure.

  3. And mark my words…most men will also one day have a chance to walk in the women’s shoes. I speak from personal experience: there will come a time when your testosterone level will naturally drop to the point where you no longer have a high libido or maybe not even a low libido. You’ll find out first-hand that having little or no sex drive does NOT mean that you are antagonistic toward sex, it just means that you have no real interest in it any more!

  4. Hey Norm, is there any way to hurry that day along?

    Naw, just kidding. I used to think/hope/wish/pray for that, but not anymore.

    Testosterone is a GOOD thing! Don’t wish it away simply because you married a shrew? Direct it towards something else: exercise, study, building, sports, hiking, hunting, fighting! Your libido can be channeled to something other than wives and mistresses. I don’t think it’s healthy to have a high sex drive and no sexual expression, but in some cases directing libidinal energy into non-sexual endeavors is the lesser of two evils.

    I’m trying to do this, but I’ve found that the hope or hint that sex may be just around the corner keeps me from completely disassociating my testosterone fueled drive from sex. That is why I’ve been pondering the idea of making my nearly sexless marriage an officially and completely sexless marriage. Not sure I’m ready to commit just yet, and my wife wants another chance to try and make some lasting changes.

  5. I have heard that a woman needed hormone therapy which included testosterone. She got a bit much of it and was disturbed by how much she thought about sex.

    I am getting old enough (50) where I think my testosterone is lowering and the pressure is letting up a bit. BUT… my wife and I are still worlds apart and the emotional scars from decades of feeling she does not love me run very deep.

    I still have not figured out why God made the sexes so different. After trying so hard to be a great husband for decades and not feeling loved most of that time, it is hard to keep trying.

    Enough crying about it for now.

    • Guy,
      I’m sorry you’ve had this difficulty. I don’t know why men and women are so different sexually, either.
      I can only say that if you feel you’ve talked to your wife about this enough, you probably haven’t. Make sure she knows exactly how you feel and why. And pray about it!! I finally had a change of heart when I really realized that my husband needed me that way to feel loved. It took me a long time.

Thanks for commenting! I love comments!

