Mark 10:8

One-Flesh-Web-7.jpg     One-Flesh-Web-6.jpg

Mark 10:8  And they twain shall be one flesh: so then they are no more twain, but one flesh.

We become one when we are physically, literally joined together in love making, but I think this means more than that.  Conan and I are continually progressing at becoming “one” with each other.  Getting closer together, relying on each other, relating to each other in spirit and mind, as well.  We’ve been married a long time, and throughout the years we have become less and less just two people in love (most of the time), living their lives together.  It’s become so much more than that, and I feel it will get even closer as more years go by.

However, I think it would be extremely difficult for us to achieve that same sort of “oneness” if we didn’t become “one flesh” on a regular basis.  Lovemaking connects us in an incredibly special way.  I have found that if we go for too long without making love, I don’t feel that oneness, and the closeness starts to fade just a little.   Conan doesn’t articulate his feelings in that way, but if he did I know he’d say the same.

I know that I am growing to cherish our unity and how we complete each other.  We really are becoming one.

2 thoughts on “Mark 10:8

  1. Having done it both ways – “one flesh” hardly ever and “one flesh” on a regular basis, I totally concur with your conclusion. Regular lovemaking does connect in a way nothing else can. If you think about it – sex and the intimacy that goes with it is the only thing that makes a relationship between a husband and wife different from relationships they have with anyone else. So of course it affects the oneness and I believe it to be the crucial ingredient. Sex consummates the marriage and the relationship!

    • Agreed! I told my sister-in-law once that there was no point in being married if you didn’t get the benefit of great sex! I could tell she had never thought about it that way before. I hope that I subtly encourage her to take good care of my brother!

Thanks for commenting! I love comments!

