Mood Killers

 

I love mornings in bed, just relaxing and savoring the peace and calm of morning.   And I love morning sex.  What a great way to start the day.

However, the biggest mood killer of all, for me, is BAD BREATH!  Blech.  And I’m pretty sure morning breath is the worst of the worst.  So, if I want to get romantic, I will first get up and brush my teeth.  Then I’ll ask Conan to do the same.  Well, guess what?  That is a total mood killer for him!  I’ll say, okay, honey, first go brush your teeth.  The problem is, once Conan gets out of bed in the morning, he’s not likely to get back into bed.  He’s got things to do, places to go, people to see.  Getting back into bed is a sign of slovenliness, laziness, slothfulness, and any other adjective for “you are a big, fat, unmotivated, lazy bum”  you can think of.  Which is a sin like unto murder in his eyes, ha ha!

So I say, we’re not doing the wild thing until you brush your  teeth.  And he says, If I get up, I’m not coming back to bed.  Sigh.  I have to say that I usually win this one.  I mean, really, isn’t that a small price to pay for the big O to start your day? Get up and brush your teeth, you stubborn, stubborn man!!!

Another  mood killer for him is when I say, okay, honey, just a minute, I’ll be right back.  Then swish off to the bathroom for a little freshening up.  Conan:  You don’t need freshening up.  Just come to bed.  Me:  Oh, yes, I do, and I’ll be there in a minute.  Conan:  SIGH.  Me:  I’ll make it worth your while, I promise you.  🙂  Conan:  GRRRRRR.

(I’m laughing at this right now, because I just gave a young newlywed advice about freshening up a little beforehand.  She said it was a mood killer and I told her that spontaneity only goes so far. )

What’s your mood killer, and how do you work around it?

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Mood Killers

  1. So Conan, what do you do – drink the scope? Don’t you still have to get up to spit it out? lol

    I also love morning sex – especially leisurely Saturday morning sex, and Sunday afternoon sex too. Oh heck, I just love sex. ha ha

    Our biggest mood killers is the phone calls from our kids. They have the frustratingly uncanny ability to call us at the most sensitive moment. gggrrr. The worst is our daughter who lives in our area. She use to call and say. “HI, we are coming over and are about 5 minutes away.” Talk about mood killers – try getting dressed, cleaning everything up, and put on a face that looks innocent all in less than 5 minutes. It got so bad, that I finally was just blunt. For some reason the “ick” factor of parents having sex got her to give us a little more advance warning. I am to the point now of telling them no phone calls or visits until after noon.

    • Ha ha! Good point, CM! Conan, you’re just going to have to get up anyway and gum is just not going to cut it.

      I’m glad you told your kids what was going on. I think even adult children think of their parents as asexual, but it’s good to know they’re not. I’m cracking up thinking about what I would do if I called my mom and said, we’re on our way over! And then she said, don’t come now, dear, your father and I are naked. ha ha ha!!!

  2. Maybe some gum by the bed would work better than mouthwash.
    My mood killer is after we are snuggled up and Hubby starts talking about work or problems with kids, etc. I keep telling him “Once you walk thru bedroom door, the outside world doesnt exist” but he has a hard time letting it go.

  3. I just want to say that this morning there was some very thorough teeth brushing going on! I am thankful for that! And I am thankful for children old enough to sleep in on Saturday morning. Woo Hoo!

Thanks for commenting! I love comments!

