Conan the Barbarian

Guys want to be looked up to, respected, and admired in their wife’s eyes, in and out of the bedroom.   I believe that most women want to admire and respect their husbands, too.

I gave my husband his nickname very shortly after we met.  We met in the mid-80’s, during Arnold’s hey day.  Arnold had won the title of Mr. Olympia for the bazillionth time in 1980, when the movie, Conan the Barbarian, came out.  My husband idolized Arnold.  He wanted to look just like him.  He did not use steroids, so it was pretty much impossible to get the same physique, but he did come pretty close.  (I’d love to brag him up and post some pictures, but I’m not sure if I should or not.)

Anyway, I knew how much he liked the Conan the Barbarian movie, and Arnold, and one time after some really great sex I said, “Thank you, Conan!” as a joke.   He got the cutest little grin on his face!  I could tell he was really pleased.  Pleased to give me so much pleasure, and pleased that I compared him to a very manly man, in his eyes.  And it stuck.  (I’ve never called him that in public, only in the privacy of our bedroom.  But it just seemed natural to call him that here on this blog about sex.)  This little nickname for my dh is just a very simple way I can make him feel admired.

A guy wants to know he is pleasing his wife.  A normal guy will go to great lengths to please his wife in the bedroom, but he would really like a little encouragement and praise for his efforts.  Maybe you have a silly nickname for him.  Maybe you have a special look or touch.  Maybe you just lay there afterwards in a pleasure induced stupor and he gets to feel like he’s the man!

Of course, there are times when I feel like “the woman”, too, and HE is the one in a pleasure induced stupor.  I like that almost as much!

4 thoughts on “Conan the Barbarian

  1. Great idea! This is a great way to express your admiration for your husband.

    Sometime, I think it would be very helpful for your to share more about what triggered the change in your attitude about sex. When did it happen? Why? Did your husband’s actions have anything to do with it?

    Thanks for sharing.

  2. Yes, my husband’s actions had a lot to do with it! I’ll work on something about that.

    Oh, and also, Conan just read this post and he wants it known that he’s never been in a stupor. He’s been in pleasure, but no stupor. “Is a stupor not manly or something?” I ask. “No, it’s not”, he says.
    Okay, Conan, I know you’d never do something unmanly, ha ha!!

    • Thank you, Rob, he is a great guy. And our relationship is a work in a 24-plus-year progress with so many ups and downs it would make you sicker than being on a roller coaster. I’m just thankful that we are on a very prolonged and hopefully never ending upswing. 🙂

Thanks for commenting! I love comments!

